WWF Professional Development Grants: Supporting Mid-career Conservationists to Upgrade their Knowledge and Skills

Brief Background

The World Wildlife Fund (WWF) is seeking applications for Professional Development Grants (PDGs) with an aim to provide support for mid-career conservationists to pursue short-term, non-degree training to upgrade their knowledge and skills through short courses, workshops, symposiums, conferences, and professional exchanges.
These trainings can include short courses, certificate trainings, or conferences among other training opportunities.

Grant Benefits

  • Training may take place anywhere in the world and applicants can request up to $6,500.
  • PDGs support training-related costs, including registration fees and tuition, meals and accommodations, books and materials, international travel, visa fees, and local transportation.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for a Professional Development Grant the applicant:

  • Must be a citizen of an eligible country.
  • Must currently be living and working in an eligible country.
  • Must have at least three years of work experience (paid position) in a conservation-related field.
  • Must already be accepted to participate in the proposed training at the time he/she submit his/her application.
  • Current work and proposed training must help advance conservation in an eligible country.
  • Proposed training must be completed within 6 months and must not lead to an academic degree. Individuals currently enrolled in an academic degree program are not eligible.
  • Must have approval from his/her employer to participate in the proposed training and the promise of continued employment.
  • Must have a bank account in his/her own name that can receive US dollars.
  • Must not have received funding from EFN in the past. Previous PDG recipients may be eligible.
  • Must apply at least 90 days in advance of your proposed activity.
  • Must submit all required documents with your application.

Eligible Countries

Belize (Mesoamerican Reef), Bhutan, Bolivia (Amazon), Cambodia, Cameroon (Congo Basin), Central African Republic (Congo Basin), Colombia (Amazon, Eastern Pacific Ocean), Dem. Republic of Congo (Congo Basin), Ecuador (Amazon and Galapagos), Fiji (Coral Triangle), French Guiana (Amazon), Gabon (Congo Basin), Guatemala (Mesoamerican Reef, Eastern Pacific Ocean), Guyana (Amazon), Honduras (Mesoamerican Reef), Indonesia, Kenya (Coastal East Africa), Laos, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mozambique (Primeiras e Segundas marine area, Quirimbas, Lake Niassa Aquatic Reserve, Ruvuma Landscape), Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal (Terai Arc Landscape, Sacred Himalayan Landscape, Chitwan Annapurna Linkage), Papua New Guinea (Coral Triangle), Paraguay, Peru (Amazon, Eastern Pacific Ocean), Republic of Congo (Congo Basin), Solomon Islands (Coral Triangle), Suriname (Amazon), Uganda, Vietnam, Zambia.
How to Apply:
All applicants must complete an application by one of the deadlines noted below. Individuals who submit their applications less than 90 days before their proposed activity will not be considered for funding. Grant requests may not exceed US $6,500.


  • August 1, 2016
  • November 1, 2016
  • February 1, 2017
  • May 1, 2017

Individuals may submit an online application at any time, but completed applications will not be reviewed until the dates noted above.

Click on the link below to apply:


Official website for the Grant:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here