Australia International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (Up to 330 Awards)

The International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) program enables international students to undertake a postgraduate research qualification in Australia and gain experience with leading Australian researchers.
Host Institution(s):
Participating Universities in Australia
Level/Field of study:
Masters by research degree or Doctorate Degree offered by participating Universities in Australia.
Number of Awards:
Around 330 are awarded annually.
Target group:
International students of all countries (except New Zealand).
Scholarship Worth
The scholarship covers tuition fees and health cover costs for scholarship holders, and health cover costs for their dependents. The scholarships are available for a period of two years for a research masters degree or three years for a research doctorate degree. 


To be eligible to apply for an IPRS, the applicant must be an international student (except New Zealand) and commencing full-time enrolment in a higher degree by research at an eligible university in Australia. The basic eligibility criteria for an IPRS are listed in section 3.10.1 of theCommonwealth Scholarships Guidelines (Research) 2012.

To Apply

Applications for a scholarship need to be made directly to participating Universities. Students need to approach the scholarship office at their chosen university for direction about the process to apply for an IPRS and key deadline dates.  The deadline varies per university but is around April-October each year.
It is important to read the Frequently Asked Questions and visit the website of the University where you intend to apply and the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.
Official Scholarship Website:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here