Apply for the African Women Development Fund (AWDF) Main Grant Programme for Programmes Supporting Women in Africa

29 Jan, 2018


The African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF) is currently seeking applications from eligible African women’s organisations for its main grants programme.

Thematic Areas

These frame AWDF’s current funding strategy Shaping Africa’s Future;

  • Body & Health Rights: The focus for this grantmaking round will be on ending violence against women; sexual and reproductive rights including HIV/AIDS; LBT rights; women’s emotional wellbeing and mental health including for women human rights defenders.
  • Economic Security & Justice: The focus for this grantmaking round will be on land, property and inheritance rights; food sovereignty and women’s rights in contexts of food production and agriculture; climate and environmental justice; women’s economic security and livelihoods.
  • Leadership, Participation & Peace: The focus for this grantmaking round will be on women’s participation in governance and decision-making, including elections; peace and security; defending democratic space and women human rights defenders; building women’s leadership.

Grant Information

  • Applicants may apply for up to US$50,000 for a one-year grant. Please note that most grants awarded are likely to be lower than the maximum.
  • Organisations can apply for an amount which is not more than half of their confirmed income as evident in their last audited statement.

Eligibility Criteria

  • AWDF is particularly interested in projects working with young women, women facing multiple discrimination, and approaches that include engaging the arts, culture, sports and technology.
  • AWDF is looking for innovative and effective projects that address the needs of and involve the women and communities most affected by inequality and injustice in the leadership and implementation of projects.
  • AWDF particularly encourages women’s rights organisations registered and working in the following countries to apply: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, DRC, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Nigeria, Niger, Senegal, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe
  • The basic qualifying criteria for applying organisations are as follows:
    • Must be led by a woman and have majority of its staff and board being women
    • Must be duly registered in an African country
    • Must have been in existence for at least 3 years
    • Must have the needed organisational structures for effective implementation of the project
    • Must have an appreciable financial management system to properly account for funds received
    • Must be capable of reporting back on the outcomes of the project
    • Must complete the necessary application forms

How to Apply

Interested women’s rights organisations should send their proposals via email at the address given on the website.

For more information, please visit the official website for the Main Grant Programme by following the link below:

Main Grant Programme</h2

Related Posts

Leave a reply